Copyright © 2024 Discover Ukraine LLC.


The Kuala-Lumpur rapid transit system consists of 9 lines that have 156 metro stations. There are 3 metro companies in Kuala-Lumpur. Therefore, each line has a different name and a colour code. Rapid runs KL Monorail (light-green), Kelana Jaya Line (pink), Ampang Line (orange), Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line (green) and BRT Sunway Line (dark green). KTM is in charge of Seremban Line (blue) and Port Klang Line (red). KLIA Ekspres Line (violet) and KLIA Transit Line (turquoise) are operated by Express Rail Link. Working hours: from 6 a.m. till 11.40 p.m. (Monday – Saturday), and till 11.10 p.m. on Sundays and public holidays.


Kuala-Lumpur has a complicated system of cost calculation which depends on the distance between the stations and may vary from MYR 0.80 up to MYR 12.00 Each company has different tickets and therefore you have to purchase a new ticket when you switch lines. The cost of a journey on the airport line varies from MYR 2.00 up to MYR 55.00, depending on the distance between the stations.


Tokens can be purchased both from ticket machines and ticket offices located at the stations. When buying the ticket, you have to state the starting and final stations in order to have the fare of the journey calculated correctly.