Copyright © 2024 Discover Ukraine LLC.


The Singapore Metro or MRT (Mass Rapid Transit) - convenient means of transport covering the major part of the city. Its construction began in 1983, and now there are 159 stations, some of which are located underground, and some – on the surface. The Singapore metro system consists of nine lines, one of which starts at the airport. Names of metro lines constitute special letter codes meaning cardinal directions. East to west is a green line (EW), north to east is a purple line (NE), north to south is a red line (NS) whereas the central line is a yellow line (CC). Metro stations are located in all districts of Singapore. Working hours: from 5.30 a.m. till 0.30 a.m., and from 6 a.m. till 1 a.m. on holidays. Train headway depends on the workload. During the rush hour trains can arrive every minute.


The cost of a journey depends on the quantity of stations and makes from SGD 1.4 up to SGD 2.7. You can buy a tourist card Singapore Tourist Pass for one to three days instead of ordinary tickets, which costs from SGD 10 up to SGD 20 respectively. If you are going to get around a lot, you should buy a stored value ezLink card. Its basic cost is SGD 15 consisting of three elements: SGD 5 is the non-refundable cost of the ticket, SGD 3 is a deposit, which can be refunded upon request, and SGD 7 is the sum on the account itself which can be used for journeys. The card can be used to pay for both metro and bus journeys, offering substantial discounts.


When you buy a single ticket (issued as a magnetic card), you will have to pay 10 cents more, which is a deposit you will be refunded after the third journey. It can be purchased from ticket machines installed at metro stations. The magnetic card shall be tapped onto the ticket barrier reader upon entry and exit. If you have lost a card, or it does not function, ask the metro station worker at the exit from the station.